Just a Girl











{January 15, 2007}   First Light 1/2 Marathon

Okay, so I am crazy. As you know, the weekend of Jan 6th and 7th I ran the Goofy Challenge where you run a 1/2 marathon and a full marathon all in one weekend. I did this and finished. Became sick due to dehydration. However, finally on Friday I was starting to feel better. I was planning a trip to Mobile that weekend to go and watch my friends run the 1/2 and full marathon in Mobile, Alabama. The race was on January 14th. As you can see by the dates that is exactly one week from finishing the Goofy Challenge. I was not planning on running at all but just being a spectator. Well, we went to the expo that Saturday and I just got that feeling that I wanted to run. Why not, if I could not finish it would be no big deal since I really was not planning on running it anyways and it was for a good cause so I just signed up for the 1/2 marathon. That morning on Sunday I felt really good. I ended up starting to run the 1/2 marathon. About the 10th mile I was feeling good but becoming tired. So I slowed down my pace some. Not even realizing what my pace was I ended up finishing the 1/2 in about 2 hours and 14 minutes. I placed 15th in my age group and felt great. I still don’t hurt today. So I guess all the training that I have done in the past few months have paid off. So now I am contemplating on if I want to go and run the New Orlean’s Marathon at the end of February. I am going to be running the 1/2 marathon here in town in February, the Mercedes 1/2 marathon on Feb 11 but not sure if I should run the full in New Orleans. The reason I have thought about running this race is because some people in Mobile where talking about it and some of my friends are interested in running it too. So who knows, I might just end up running it. If not there is always next year. But right now, I am feeling great, I am ready to keep running long distance, and I plan on staying on top of my game while it last. Not sure what has come over me in the running but I hope it stays for a long time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

et cetera
