Just a Girl











{January 29, 2007}   Best Friends Wedding

You know I have been in several weddings and have been the maid of honor (or as the boys said the Best Woman) many times. However, this was probably the most interesting wedding I have ever been apart of. It all started with the rehersal. We got to the Botanical Gardens about 4pm on Friday, we discussed how we were going to enter, some of the things that will be read, and how the whole ceremony would take place. The best man, Blake, specifically asked the minister if him and I needed to have the rings for the wedding. The minister told us, “No, I would like to keep them in my possession so that they don’t get lost.” So we were like okay, but did not feel comfortable but thought why not. We never actually went thru the whole ceremony and never walked in and out to practice. We then went to the rehersal dinner. Well, this was definitely a site to remember. Her whole family was on one side of the room and his family was on the other. No one really talked to eachother. They served dinner, they drank A LOT, they did not do much. We then had to go shopping because God forbid I forgot to buy the bride a gift and I am the maid of honor (Best Woman). As soon as the dinner was over we went to the mall, got some stuff from Victoria Secret and then went to Wal Mart to get the usual stuff, you know we had to decorate the limo. This was all just Friday night. Now onto the wedding itself…..

It was Saturday morning, we all had to be at the Botanical Gardens at 11:30am. On my way there I called the bride to see how she was doing and to let her know I might be about 5 minutes late. She said don’t worry, my dad has not even picked me up yet. She was so upset, this took me about 10 minutes to calm her down. Then I get there and have to hurry up and change clothes and put on makeup. Now, any of you that know me, I am the total tom-boy that does not wear makeup, does not wear dresses. I mean, every once in awhile I like to dress up but feel so much more comfortable in jeans and a t-shirt. I finally get dressed and everyone is laughing because I am asking how to put on certain things on my face. Don’t ask me what it was or what it is called because I could not tell you. The the bride shows up. She is doing everything in her power to change as fast as possible. You see we had to get there early so we could take pictures before the groomsmen showed up. We finally had many and I me many many pictures taken. Then finally we had to go back in the bathroom (our dressing room) to finish getting ready and to wait for the groomsmen to show up and go somewhere he could not see her. Well, things got a little worse, they could not get the music started, they could not find everyone. But finally at about 2pm, maybe a little after, we started the ceremony. It started out good, we were all standing there watching the minister do all his speeches and readings, and then it came time to do the rings. Well guess what, the Best Man and Woman did not have them because the minister said he wanted to take care of them. Well, he forgot them in his car so he could not do the rings normally. So we all started to find rings to give to them so they could actually do some type of ring ceremony. But when the minister said that we are all human and I forgot the rings, the best man under his breath says “Are you F**King kidding me.” The ones of us that heard it started laughing so loud. At least it broke the mood. Then the wedding was over. Now time to go and take more pictures. This lasted for another hour or so. It was cold and very tiring. All I could think about was how hungry I was. We finally got to leave and go to the reception. When we got there we had to take more pictures. Yes, this girl is going to have so many pictures of her wedding that she could fill a book case of wedding albums. However, when we got to the reception and were finally allowed to go in and eat all they had was chips and dip, cake, and some pigs in a blanket (you know those little hot dogs with a piece of bread around them.) Now, keep in mind, the wedding party had been going since 11:30 am until about 5:30/6pm. And none of us had eaten yet. We all wanted to leave and just go to McDonalds or something. We did not care. But it turns out we had a lot more to do. But finally I got to go home, about 11pm and get in bed. I woke up the next day and all I wanted to do was eat.

Now, I have learned over the years that if, and this is a big IF, I ever get married, I will make it so simple. All I want to do is buy a cute dress, fly to Cancun, invite anyone who wants to go, they would have to pay their own way, and get married and just have my honeymoon there. I don’t think I could have gone thru all this and done everything that my best friends had to go thru but at least now they are married, they are a great couple. I love them to death, and just to let you know, I am very happy for them. Other then all the crazy things that happened, like at any wedding, it was still beautiful and she was a very beautiful bride.

Oh forgot to tell you, I caught the bouquet so I guess I am next………we will see….any takers out there…..men only…………

Leave a Reply

et cetera
